Wandering around the Yarra Ranges

I have for sometime been meaning to get out to the Yarra Ranges and grab a few shots of the waterfalls to be found in a number of locations.

So it was grab the camera bag and tripod and hit the road, which for a long weekend was pretty quiet. An hour and half later I was standing in front of the 800metre walk uphill to the Phantom Falls, good thing I am fairly fit for a 60+.  Needless to say by the time I got to the falls I was puffing and glad that I had left a couple of lenses home.  The Phantom Falls are perhaps not the most picturesque and after 800 metres uphill one would have hoped for more. Nonetheless here it is.

phantom-falls

Then it was back into the car and drive a few more kilometres to the Taggerty Cascade and in this case there was a very nice scene on a bridge just a shot walk from the car.  I am sure that there are other very pretty areas along the trial but they will keep for another time.  Here is the view from the bridge.

taggerty-cascade-

And finally, for this area,  along the road until the beeches walk was reached only to find it was closed due to storm damage.  Luckily very close by was a very nice cascade that was worth clambering over a few rocks and fallen branches.  For this one I did a panoramic shot as I was quite close.

beeches-cascade

After these few falls I moved onto the Coralyn falls 22 kilometres away again the viewing platform did not allow for the most spectacular view of the falls but I am not going to go climbing down wet slippery rocks when I am by myself half a kilometre into the bush.  So it was a case of take the image from the provided view point.  Which looks like this.

coralyn-

Of course if you would like to own one of these pictures then drop me a line in the comments field and I will get back to you.

2 thoughts on “Wandering around the Yarra Ranges

  1. poppytump

    How lovely to have a choice of waterfalls to choose John !
    Lovely intimate cascading water shots .

    Reply
    1. johnholding Post author

      Thank s Poppy, some very nice waterfalls and there are still some in the area that I did not visit today.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

