What do you do when its cold and home is the only place to be.

Of course I practise my photography.

Today I embarked on playing around with a still life or two.  The benefit of doing still life is many fold. it makes one think about:

composition

Light and lighting

Depth of field

photoshop skills

and of course the arrangement, perhaps not might strong point but I haven’t done many so I  am giving myself the benefit of the doubt.  No doubt you can offer suggestions for a better arrangement.

I did two different shots, one outside of garden hose fittings etc and one using flowers and baskets inside.  In both cases I just used natural light but controlled the amount of light and direction.

The inside one ended up like this after some desaturation and other adjustments.still-life

And the hose fittings etc ended up like this.

still-life-2

Still need to spend more time in the arrangements area but that is just reading studying other works and practising until getting the form right.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

