Walking around Melbourne

On Saturday I met with a few like minded photographers, principally to do a few street shots.  So at about 9am I headed into Melbourne found a nice cafe and had a croissant and a coffee.  Whilst enjoying that I noticed across the laneway (Degraves) was a waitress busy at the till.  That made my first shot for the day, namely this one.

adding-the-bill

After that I met with the rest of the group and we wandered down towards dockland to see what might arise.  By chance I happened to look down another laneway and to my surprise I noticed this shot, which I had seen in other photographers work but did not know where it was in Melbourne.  So of course I had to take my version and as it so happened the light was quite nice and as a a result I got this shot.

peeking

After a few more laneways and street we arrived down on the North Wharf area and I liked the way a line of new buildings pointed to a some what derelict car park,  very nicely depicting how change progresses through city landscapes and alters dramatically what one sees and experiences.  It will only be w few years when the area I was standing on is underneath a new building.

the-march-of-change

Lastly we went aboard the Alma Doepel, a ship under reconstruction.  This is a very interesting project and if you are ever down the North Dock area and the site is open then introduce yourself to the team and Peter, if he is there, will most obligingly take you for a tour.  Of course if you like what they are doing then one can make a donation to the restoration fund.

Inside the main cabin I found this shot:

alma

So all in all a nice day out with a few good photos resulting.

Leave a Reply

