Working with textures in photoshop

Along the lines of my last post I decided to try using textures on a simple flower photograph to further my photoshop skills.  This has become possible now that I can select a part of the image with much greater accuracy.  Previous attempts have always left me with an image that looks like I cut out the selection with a pair of pinking sheers,  not nice.

Having had a photograph of aJapanese Anemone, at least that what I think it is, and if you do know then let me know because my botanical knowledge is what one would call challenged.  I then selected the background and used a layer mask to hide it leaving only the flower.  Then added in a blank layer which is visible in the masked areas.  Into the blank layer I added a photograph of some rock and gaussian blurred that so it became more of a background instead of an in focus foreground appearance.

Finally I added another layer over the first few and then added the rock layer again, made it an overlay layer and reduced the opacity till I had something that I liked.  That finished all of the layering to get an image that seemed to work.  Finally added in a black and white layer, tweaked that to pop the pinks and yellows and added a couple of gradient maps, black and white to boost the contrast.

 

This is the result.

 

Hope you like it.

textured-flowerlr

 

17 thoughts on “Working with textures in photoshop

  1. John

    Wow nice! I’d say you have this PS thing figured out. Too complicated for my head unless I could set down with someone and learn one-on-one. Nice work!

    Reply
  2. johnholding Post author

    Thank you John, there are plenty of Adobe TV videos on how to do stuff, almost as good as having a one on one. That is how I am learning at the moment, give it a try its fun.

    Reply
      1. johnholding Post author

        I am pretty sure that you can do similar things in GIMP, after all I am not doing anything overly complex here, just a few layers and a photo of a texture, in this case a rock.

    1. johnholding Post author

      Thank you James, still so much to learn with Photoshop, let alone photography. However that is the joy of it all.

      Reply
  3. Tiny

    Very nice result! I really like it! I’m doing lots of PS stuff and learning too…but have not posted much of it, yet. It’s really fun, and if I get stuck I am so privileged I can call my son who’s at professional level in PS and a dozen of other graphics apps 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

