Post processing

Normally my Photoshop skills are limited or I just don’t know what to do with an image to make it look different.
Well driving home today I was thinking about a shot I did in 2013 of the Puffing Billy steam train (runs daily in the Dandenong ranges here in Victoria).  I have not done much with the image in the past, in fact I used to think it was not such a great shot because the steam was overexposed along with the sky.

 

However, today I was thinking can I convert it to a night time shot with a steam train emerging from the night.  After two attempts I ended up with this.  Certainly not perfect but better than the first attempt.

First the original,

 

midnight-express-orig

 

and then the night time version in colour:

midnight-expresslr

and finally the same in black and white.

midnight-expresslrbw

8 thoughts on “Post processing

    1. johnholding Post author

      Thank you Colline, I think the B&W version is the best, however that is of course a personal preference.

      Reply
    1. johnholding Post author

      Thanks Ben, considering where it came from, a daylight shot I am not at all surprised that the colour version lacks something.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

