Learning about lighting

Over the last few days I have been playing around with a simple home made light kit.  It is very crude, however it does enable me to control light on a subject.  Light control is of course a very nice thing to have as it enables the ability to set the mood and direct the viewers attention to what the photographer wants.

For the subject I choose a single Lily flower and used the following lighting setup.

 

One overhead light shinning down into the flower to give it a glow and a large softbox to one side to remove shadows caused by the down light and the a further strip light on the opposite side to the softbox to remove most of the rest of the shadows and light the stem.  However this meant one shadow that I could not get rid off.  That means of course I need to add another light to my crude set,  one that has a spot feature in this case.

 

This has been fun and provides a nice learning experience for me. Hope you like it.

 

20130707_7070-2

3 thoughts on “Learning about lighting

  1. Leanne Cole

    I always thought shadows were good, they are natural. If you get rid of all of them won’t it make it flat? I’m not an expert, but that is what I thought. I think it looks fantastic.

    Reply
    1. johnholding Post author

      Thank you Leanne, very valid point about flatness somethink for me to consider when I try the next one. That is the beauty of photography always something new to learn.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

