Field camera work

As those that are following my blog,  thank you for that, I have built a field camera.  After a few try out shots I thought it was time to go for a more difficult shot.  Therefore it was time to head  of into Melbourne CBD and try the field camera out on the organ pipes in St Paul’s.

Now if you live in Melbourne and  are a keen photographer you may know that they are now charging for taking photo’s inside the cathedral, $5 for hand held and $15 for tripod.  Knowing this and knowing how beautiful the organ pipes are I was prepared for a one off to pay the tripod fee.

Permit sticker attached to my jumper it was time to set up.  That was not to difficult, however the light inside is atrocious for photography.  Using my DSLR light meter and setting it for ISO 160,  the ISO I use for the Tri-max 320 film I needed 20 seconds exposure at /f16.  As film has problems with reciprocity  failure,  where the reciprocal relationship between focal length and time fails meant that I had to expose for 75 seconds for the organ and twenty seconds for the two other shots.

With the camera arrangements I also had to increase the rise, that is lift the front lens up whilst  keeping the back parallel.  This of course keeps the verticals perpendicular instead of pointing to the vertical vanishing point so often found with DSLR’s unless one has a tilt shift lens.

With every thing as I would like it a focussed as best as I could under the very low light it was time to expose.  This is the result after development and printing on photographic paper, my first go at this in thirty years.  Still very much to learn as this I think is quite muddy with its contrasts.

 

Hope you enjoy it, let me know what you think.

st-pauls

Leave a Reply

